Printing My Final Images.

I spend a few days printing my contact sheets and work prints to try and narrow down which images I felt represented my ideas and theme in the best possible way. I wanted to show my work with reflections and the outside world and how they affect the way I persevere myself in the good and bad. Here are my 2 final prints:

_DSC0968 _DSC0970

I image on the left is a reflection of me in the street, however with the leading lines, shapes and buildings its hard to get a sense of place and where I actually am in the images. This is something that is very important to understand as I am asking the question of where do I belong in the world, wheres my place and is it here? Lee Friedlander’s work has made me be aware of composition, location and shape within the image, as you can see I have carefully aliened myself  the red poles, the rule of thirds have been used also.  Francesca Woodman’s work has enabled me to think about placement and how I would look in the image, I chose not to have direct mode of address with the camera to give mystery and so it seems I am looking at something in the distance, these things give great mise en scene and allow the idea to be more predominant.

The image on the right has been taken by a large window with a handheld mirror that I have angled towards my face and the lens, the idea for this image has come from Sam Taylor Wood and Tracey Moffatt as I am looking at myself and my character, the idea with the double reflection and the window is that I have more than person/ character and I need to prioritize which is real and which is what I think I am and who society thinks I should be. Both artists experiment with this theme within their work and how they use symbolism heavily, like the window in my image represents reality.

Leave a comment